A second arrest for DUI within 10 years triggers a much more severe potential sentence. This is why it is imperative that you consult an expert attorney immediately – you must request a DMV hearing within 10 days or all hope will be gone of obtaining a license for at least one year. A second offense arrest will require proactive measures. We can usually represent you without the necessity of your appearance in court. We can also get time for you to solidify your work position and usually arrange for a program so you will be able to go to your job.
Typical Second DUI Penalties in California
- 30 days to 6 months in jail (weekend work possible)
- $1,850 fine and penalties
- 18 months – 2 yrs drinking driver program
- 3-5 years probation
- 1 year interlock device installed in car
- 1-2 year license suspension
- 2 points on your driving record
Being arrested for a DUI is overwhelming, particularly on a second offense. You need experienced legal advice. Let your DUI charges become our problem, not yours. At the Law offices of Lucy S. McAllister Inc., our goal is vigorously to defend Californians who have been charged or accused of criminal offenses, including charges of DUI / DWI (drunk driving) and Traffic Violations.
For an initial confidential consultation, and for more information please e-mail us or call us at (877) 280-9944 – 24 hours a day.